
The play that immediately came to mind was this play from last season that ended up Tampa’s ball. Im having a hard time finding the replay of the drop from yesterday but I remember Olave taking two (admittedly quicker) steps with the ball while going to the ground. I just don’t see how under the same principle it’s not a fumble after breaking the plane with possession and ultimately a touchdown. The league is just so inconsistent with the applications of their own rules. Honestly felt like they just mailed it in anyway since we were up 34-0. But that’s no excuse.
3 comments
When going to the ground the end zone is essentially the same as the sideline as far as catches are concerned. Where being on the ground with the ball ends the play (out of bounds, end zone) you need to have the ball all the way through the ground.
It’s almost a carbon copy of his fumble on the deep ball last year in Week 2 against the Buccs. The only exception is this time when he’s hitting the ground he’s in the end zone.
The ball doesn’t “break the plane” on a catch in the same way it does when carried across the goal line or being caught ahead of it and ran in.
When catching behind the goal line in the end zone, the receiver still has to complete the process of the catch.
The ball never “broke the plane” as it was never possessed.
Besides the call, olave has to hold on to the ball. Something I’ve noticed since last yr is that whenever he hits the ground, the ball usually rolls out.