INDIANAPOLIS (WISH) — There was a crucial, controversial pass interference penalty on Colts cornerback Kenny Moore II in the fourth quarter that gave the Texans a first down and extended the drive.
Later that drive, Nico Collins scored the go-ahead touchdown for the Texans and the Colts lost, 20-16.
Referee Clay Martin explained the pass interference call.
“The calling official had an arm grab at the top of the route,” Martin said. “When you look back, the ball was in the air, and when you see the ball in the air, that makes it pass interference.”
Moore II was asked about the play after the game as well.
“Just two guys being competitive,” Moore II said.
“They said I touched him, so I did,” Moore II added.
The play clock had reached zero before the ball was snapped on that play as well. Martin explained why delay of game was not called.
“The back judge is the calling official and there is a process on that,” Martin said. “When the clock hits zero, he looks down to the ball and if the ball is snapped as he looks down from the clock to the ball, we leave that alone. That’s what he ruled on the play.”
On the extra point after Collins scored the touchdown, Texans kicker Ka’imi Fairbairn’s attempt went over the upright, and the extra point was ruled good.
“The calling official had the ball above the upright and completely inside the outside edge of the upright and so he ruled a successful try,” Martins said. “Since the ball was above the upright it’s not reviewable.”
The Colts are back in action on Sunday, December 7 on the road against the Jacksonville Jaguars. Kickoff is scheduled for 1 p.m.