The Cowboys and the Packers tied, 40-40, on Sunday Night Football, but did the NFL referees miss a key penalty at the end of the game?
Dallas and Green Bay played for 60 minutes – and then needed 10 minutes more. The Cowboys and the Packers were tied up, 37-37, at the end of regulation. Dak Prescott then led the Cowboys on a field goal drive at the start of overtime. Jordan Love and the Packers nearly let the clock run out on their ensuing drive, but managed to have 1 second remaining – enough time for the game-tying field goal. The Cowboys and the Packers played the second-highest scoring tie of all-time.
Advertisement
But did the officiating crew, headed by longtime NFL referee Ron Torbert, miss a key penalty at the end of the game?

NFL referee Ron Torbert.© Mark J. Rebilas-Imagn Images
Before the Packers kicked their game-tying field goal as time expired in overtime, they lined up for a play on 3rd and 14 from the Dallas 16-yard line.
But were the Packers lined up illegally?
“Packers got away with an illegal formation which should’ve been a penalty requiring a 10 second runoff resulting in the Cowboys winning. Refs stay playing the boys😒,” one NFL fan pointed out.
Advertisement
“You guys got away with an illegal formation on the last play before the field goal, so I think it’s okay,” one fan added.
“I guess it’s never getting called in that situation, but sure looked like an illegal formation here on the last play,” one fan added.
Former NFL coach Rex Ryan agrees a call was missed
On ESPN’s “Get Up!” on Monday morning, former NFL head coach Rex Ryan admitted that the officiating crew missed multiple illegal formation penalties for the Packers down the stretch of overtime.
Advertisement
“They’re not even lined up right,” Ryan said.
“I guess they let things slide or something like that…the Green Bay Packers never looked ready for the moment.”
The Packers dropped to 2-1-1 on the year with the tie, while the Cowboys improved to 1-2-1 on the season with the tie.
This story was originally reported by The Spun on Sep 29, 2025, where it first appeared in the NFL section. Add The Spun as a Preferred Source by clicking here.